Chicago's Landmark Districts

There are several levels of designation of a Landmark, as discussed in my blog post Stability and Longevity From Historic District Designation. The highest level of protection for historic buildings is offered through local landmark designation. Designation as a Chicago Landmark District will require that building permits be reviewed and evaluated for appropriateness by the Commission on Chicago Landmarks. This will determine whether or not the proposed construction or changes within the district meet the Secretary of Interior’s Rehabilitation Standards. Buildings in these districts can also qualify for various tax credits and incentives. If you own a home or property in one of these areas, it is a good idea to be aware of the Landmark designation, incentives, and restrictions.

Check out the homes for sale in your favorite Landmark District:

Alta Vista Terrace Landmark District
Arlington-Deming Landmark District 
Arlington and Roslyn Place Landmark District
Armitage-Halsted Landmark District
Astor Street Landmark District
Bissell Street Landmark District
Black Metropolis and Bronzeville Landmark District
Burling Row House Landmark District
Calumet-Giles-Prairie Landmark District
Chatham-Greater Grand Crossing Commercial District
Dover Street Landmark District
East Lake Shore Drive Landmark District
East Village Landmark District
Five Houses on South Avers Landmark District
Fremont Row House Landmark District
Giles-Calumet Landmark District
Greenwood Row House Landmark District
Hawthorne Place Landmark District
Historic Michigan Boulevard Landmark District
Hutchinson Street Landmark District
Jackson Boulevard Landmark District
Jackson Park Highlands Landmark District
Jeweler's Row Landmark District
Kenwood Landmark District
Lincoln Avenue Row House Landmark District
Logan Square Boulevards Landmark District
Longwood Drive Landmark District
McCormick Row House Landmark District
Mid-North Landmark District
Milwaukee Avenue Commercial Landmark District
Milwaukee-Diversey-Kimball Landmark District
Motor Row Landmark District
Newport Avenue Landmark District
North Kenwood Multiple Resource Landmark District
Oakdale Avenue Landmark District
Oakland Landmark District
Old Edgebrook Landmark District
Old Town Triangle Landmark District
Prairie Avenue Landmark District
Printing House Row Landmark District
Pullman Landmark District
Seven Houses on Lake Shore Drive Landmark District
Surf and Pine Grove Landmark District
Terra Cotta Row Landmark District
Ukrainian Village Landmark District
Villa Landmark District
Walter Burley Griffin Place Landmark District
Washington Park Court Landmark District
Washington Square Landmark District
Wicker Park Landmark District

Chicago's National Register of Historic Places Historic Districts

A home listed on the National Register can pave a road to protective levels of designation and incentives. National Register properties are eligible for federal planning and rehabilitation grants, federal investment tax credits, preservation easements, and building , fire, and safety code alternatives. National Register criteria for evaluation must be met in order to be eligible for nomination (and ultimate listing) on the National Register of Historic Places. 

*Some National Register Historic Districts may overlap with Landmark Districts
**Not all of Chicago's National Register Historic Districts are listed below, for a full list visit the National Park Service's database.

Check out the homes for sale in your favorite National Register Historic District:

Gold Coast Historic District
Bryn Mawr Avenue Historic District
East Ravenswood Historic District
Lakeview Historic District
Lakewood Balmoral Historic District
Ravenswood Manor Historic District
Sauganash Historic District
Sheffield Historic District
Sheridan Park Historic District
Castlewood Terrace Historic District

Chicago's National Register Bungalow Districts

Most Chicago bungalows nominated for listing on the National Register will be nominated as part of a district. In addition to the cultural and historical prestige of living in a National Register Historic District, homeowners are eligible for tax freeze for up to 12 years. The Chicago Bungalow Association's work to create these districts is generously funded by the Richard H. Driehaus Foundation.

Check out the homes for sale in Chicago's Bungalow Historic Districts:

Auburn Gresham Historic Bungalow District
Falconer Historic Bungalow District
North Mayfair Historic Bungalow District
Portage Park Historic Bungalow District
Rogers Park Manor Historic Bungalow District
Schorch Irving Park Manor Gardens Historic Bungalow District
South Park Manor Historic Bungalow District
South Shore Historic Bungalow District
Talman West Ridge Historic Bungalow District
West Chatham Historic Bungalow District
Wrightwood Historic Bungalow District

Learn more about Chicago's Landmark and National Register Historic Districts at my BLOG.